The reckless driving Warren Virginia points system is sort of like a grading scale that allows extra credit to boost your score. Every Virginia driver starts with a blank slate of zero points. They can then acquire positive points for good driving behavior or demerit points when they are issued traffic tickets or are convicted of a traffic-related criminal offense such as reckless driving or DUI. The number and nature of points on your driving record can make a difference when you are charged with reckless driving. Virginia courts tend to be a little more lenient with drivers who have good driving histories, as evidenced by no points or positive points.
Drivers who have acquired reckless driving Warren Virginia points, and thereby demonstrate problematic driving in the past, are less likely to be able to get a reckless driving charge reduced to a simple traffic infraction and may see stiffer penalties when convicted. The outcome of a reckless driving charge always will depend upon the individual case, but if you are facing a reckless driving charge you will be needed to obtain a copy of your driving record and discuss with a traffic defense attorney how it may affect your case.
Traffic Offenses and Demerit Points
Three-point violations of reckless driving Warren Virginia points include minor tickets such as improper passing, failing to obey a highway sign, or speeding less than 10 mph over the speed limit. The points you acquire from these violations generally stay on your license for three to five years.
Four-point violations are traffic offenses treated more seriously in Virginia. These include driving the wrong way on a one-way street, aggressive driving, following too closely, or speeding 10-19 mph over the speed limit. Four-point violations stay on your record anywhere from three to 11 years.
Six-point violations are the most serious types of violations. Usually, they are no mere traffic tickets, but criminal offenses. These include DUI, involuntary vehicular manslaughter, and reckless driving. The points you accrue from being convicted of one of these offenses stay on your record for 11 years.
Consequences of Demerit Points
In addition to potentially affecting the outcome of your reckless driving charge, demerit points can lead to your having to complete a driver improvement clinic or even to your driver’s license being suspended.
You are issued 12 demerit points in a year or 18 points within two years. A driver improvement clinic is a course that teaches you good driving and how to avoid accidents. When you are ordered to complete a driver improvement clinic and you fail to do that by the deadline set by the court — usually 90 days — your license is suspended.
The rules are a little different if you are a minor. If you are under 18, you shall have to take a driver improvement clinic any time you are convicted of a seat belt or child restraint violation, or any traffic infraction or violation that adds demerit points to your license. The class usually has to be completed within 90 days or your license is suspended until you finish it.
How to Gain Positive Points
Virginia allows you to accrue up to five positive points on your driving record at a given. The reckless driving Warren Virginia points can be earned voluntarily by attending a driver improvement clinic and enhancement. They can get five positive reckless driving Warren Virginia points for completing a good driver class, and they can do that every two years’ period. However, you can never have more than five positive points on your record of driving.